"My philosophy is to have a really good time and never to let anything stop me from doing what I want to do."

(1986) Unicorn Video, Inc.
(2008) Release

Michel Petrucciani Trio: Live at the Village Vanguard

    1. Regina
    2. The Prayer
    3. Waltz New (with Jim Hall)
    4. Beautiful But Why?
    5. Our Tune

Michel Petrucciani - piano
Palle Danielsson - bass
Eliot Zigmund - drums
special guest: Jim Hall - guitar

The great jazz pianist Michel Petrucciani, in a beautiful and powerful concert captured on video at New York City's jazz Mecca the Village Vanguard.
As this set fully demonstrates, Michel Petrucciani was one of the most exciting and important jazz pianists and composers his generation, writing extended pieces that showcase the richness and gorgeousness of his tone and the emotional depth of his playing.
Joined here by two great sidemen, Palle Danielsson on bass and Eliot Zigmund (once a Bill Evans stalwart) on drums, Petrucciani finds room, amid five extended and swinging meditations, for a collaboration with his special guest, the great jazz guitarist Jin Hall. A wonderful evening of beautiful music.
~ from the liner notes by William Hogeland