"My philosophy is to have a really good time and never to let anything stop me from doing what I want to do."

(2010) Disques Dreyfus


Michel Petrucciani: Trio In Tokyo
Live recorded at Blue Note, Tokyo in Novembre 1997

    1. Training
    2. September Second
    3. Home
    4. A Little Peace of C for U
    5. Love Letter
    6. Cantabile
    7. Colors
    8. So What
    9. Take The "A" Train

Michel Petrucciani - piano
Anthony Jackson - bass
Steve Gadd - drums

If there is a single quality that best sums up Michel Petrucciani's personality and his music, it is generosity. Onstage, in the heat of the moment, close to the audience, in the heated intimacy of a club atmosphere, he expressed his passion for sharing most truthfully. "A lot of musicians have a playing style that is too egoistical," he said. "They play just for themselves and an elite happy few. I play to give pleasure and to communicate. I'd like to think of myself as a very happy person. That's why it is so important to me to pass along and give to others the generosity that is indispensable in art, music, and life.
The roof is in these magnificent moments caught live in Tokyo in 1997. Along with Antony Jackson and Steve Gadd - two close friends with whom he had a musical relationship that was almost telepathic - Michel Petrucciani lines up a burning hour of piano, mixing standards and originals to unleash his unbounded generosity and give free reign to his own sensual sense of lyricism. Once again, we are stuck by the solar clarity of his phrasing, the vigor and percussive rigor of his touch (he was a master of tempo who played "all the way through the note"), and the breath of his long phrases in which you always distinctly hear each note. Michel brought accent and dimension to everything he played. Above all, he bought complete sincerity. His heart sang directly through the piano. This album is the most astonishing demonstration of it.

Französisches Original: Pascal Anquetil

Translation: Charles Toberman